Police attack PDP presidential aspirants, governors, others with teargas in Abuja

Today, six Presidential aspirants, alongside the PDP National Chairman, Uche Secondus, were teargassed by the Nigerian Police, during a peaceful protest against the partiality of the nation’s electoral body and the police.

The protesters, which included presidential aspirants Senate President, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki; Governor of Sokoto State, Aminu Tambuwal; former Governor of Jigawa State, Sule Lamido; and Senator Datti Baba Ahmed had left the INEC Headquarters, and were approaching the Police headquarters on a peaceful protest where they were met with police barricades and live ammunition.

Senator Dino Melaye, the Chairman of the PDPs Committee to protest the Osun State gubernatorial elections, was also physically assaulted by two police officers.

This assault on leaders of our nation’s main opposition party shows that our security forces have a low tolerance for dissenting voices.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: